The Reality of Maturity

Instead, his delight is in the Lord ’s instruction, and he meditates on it day and night. He is like a tree planted beside streams of water that bears its fruit in season and whose leaf does not wither. Whatever he does prospers. (Psalms 1:2, 3 HCSB)

Tree-with-roots-planted-in-the-waterThere is an obvious blessing associated with simply meditating on the instructions of The Lord. This brings, ultimately, prosperity. Because one would choose to dedicate themselves to the scriptural imperatives, the response of the Lord on that person is to root them deeply, secure them to himself, and bring their way increase. Too often for my own liking, I have chosen to NOT meditate on him or his instructions.

And I miss out, influence wanes, and hunger follows. Jesus, help me to long for you, hunger for you above all else, and let your word be restored in my life in a place of primacy.

This is from a recent entry in my private journal that I have kept since April 1988. It is easy to become supremely distracted in our world – to find that the appeal of the moment is greater than the strength of dedication to discipline. I guess I am a work in progress, working toward a greater maturity in Christ as well as a great understanding of applying that maturity to a world that is in darkness.

My desire in this space is to present a heart after God, with all its ups and downs, to be real in my expression of faith and to hopefully challenge the status quo of spiritual life. Let’s get real and let’s grow together!

Leave a Reply

